Daylight Saving Time!

VPA BLOG! – Week 6

As I sit here watching the football on a very questionable illegal internet feed, I have finally got round to writing the blog for week 6. Week 5 was supposed to be done by the ever so reliable Tawanda, but as you may be able to see from the lack of text, it has not been uploaded (apparently he wrote three pages worth but it didn’t upload) – sure you did…

Anyway things are getting really interesting for the volunteers now, as we hit the halfway mark of the 12-week placement and everybody starts to feel the heat of deadlines and obismal weather etc. Speaking for myself, I currently have so much on my plate at the moment. My placement is an external project, working with Rochdale Boroughwide Housing – a local housing mutual. I am really enjoying my placement – gaining the experience I want, working on a frontline service, meeting people and having fun along the way. I also volunteer half a day a week at a local housing charity – The Bond Board. On top of all this, I have just this week started training for a weekend call centre role which at least is paid! Not enough hours in the day…

Image

So week 6, Monday – Wednesday we were all getting busy with our projects. Here is what everyone got upto;

Marc

The computers were still down at RBH so I had to be quite flexible with my work. I helped out with the job club at the drop-in centre on Monday, helping a regular service user get a job interview! Tuesday consisted of mainly working on my folder whilst also helping out with the gardening club and planning a funding bid for the group. Wednesday was really productive, as I planned a consultation session for some housing development work with a senior housing officer. I also had some good news regarding the possibility of a paid position within the company!

Rachel/Sarah

Getting stuck into the planning of their Halloween event by leafleting and putting up posters in Middleton. They also got chased by a dog which was in keeping with the spirit of their Halloween plans. They also enjoyed maintaining Boarshaw Clough and working on the path.

James and Tawanda

More door knocking. I wish there was more to say…

Karen

Besides swanning off to Turkey and basking in the sun, she attended a job interview in the North East for a Landscape Design position with Groundwork, fingers crossed for you Karen!

Liz

Liz has been sniffling and snotting all over the place all week. However she still managed to bake the most incredible carrot cake. It is highly recommended that she goes into business selling baked goods. ACTION: TAWANDA TO BANKROLL THE PROJECT.

In terms of work, Liz has been stuck at her desk, researching, telephoning and e-mailing. Not good at all!

Bits and bobs

I have a habit of ranting on so I will summarise some of the other mundane topics which have been doing the rounds amongst the current VPA team:

– It has been commented on that there has been limited and sometimes zero supply of milk. This is obviously unacceptable 😉

– We have been trying to figure out how best to go about delivering the final presentation. Most are keen to film a day in the life of a volunteer which requires a handhelp video camera and a good video editor!

– Our team night out is this weekend. We are off to a Thai restaurant to fill our boots before we hit some bars and spend money we don’t have! I hope everyone can make it!

– Those of us doing countryside skills are pairing up and planning an improvement to the site. It is getting very wet and windy now which means my feet will get very cold…

Image

– Apparently we have a ‘leaf test’ or something soon? All to revise…

-Oh and the team trip is next Thursday! I am not sure where we are going yet but it should be good fun.

Marc’s bit

I think that is enough waffling for one week so I will just leave on one final note;

Image

Having planned to let my hair down and go to the Warehouse Projects ‘Halloween Special’ last Friday, it seemed all my birthdays had come at once when not only did my friend got us in as VIP’s with FREE entry (Tickets normally £26) we also gained exclusive access to the boiler room in which you could watch all your favourite DJ’s that night play live in front of you in a room of no more than thirty people. Talk about up-close and personal! Needless to say I had an unbelievable night. I may still have some zombie make up on my face though…

Image

Much love x

One thought on “Daylight Saving Time!

Leave a Reply

