Joanne Green- Week 9 w/c 23/07/2012

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Working with Business Services on three separate occasions this week gave a boost to my confidence and hopefully, in the long-term, my competence. On one of the Business Services days I went out with and shadowed a staff member to a multi-occupancy social housing managed building, St. Chad’s Centre, to do resource efficiency diagnostic. The building holds a Medical Practice, Police Station, Childcare, Pharmacy, Library and a Regenda reception. I found undertaking the environmental management qualitative primary research interview and walkabout informative, responsible and progressive. Research from working within Business Services this week includes Queen’s Award for Enterprise. This award has four categories: Sustainable Development, Innovation, International Trade and the promotion of enterprise. On the website is a video of an SME owner, Graeme whose video I found really motivating. Being unemployed it’s encouraging to know there is SME growth-support out there from Business Link, Growth Accelerator and Mutual.

Volunteer Project Assistant qualitative and quantitative research includes devising surveys for my peers and the staff to complete and submit to Survey Monkey. From the entries I shall collate and analyze the results to meet the Community Volunteering Qualification.

Attending a webinar Cultural Heritage & Archaeology in EIA gave me an understanding of just how passionate people are of culture and heritage. If I attain a job in a planning department or project manage a consultation I look forward to those points rising again.

Participating in the [Doug] Richard Review for Apprenticeships at Stockport Town Hall National Workshop gave me the opportunity to inform the reviewer of my opinion of how I believe improvements to apprenticeships could be made. Calls for responses are open until 7 September 2012.

Today’s Boarshaw Clough pictures show a greater diversity amongst the insects than I have previously seen.

Leave a Reply

