Joanne Green: My Profile

Hello I’m Joanne from Stockport, Cheshire. After university I began Community Engagement with a number of community and SME groups in Stockport. These include Sustainable Living in the Heatons, Stockport Fairtrade Group, Stockport Fairtrade Steering Group, Stockport Writers, Write Out Loud- Stockport branch, Marple Out Loud and British Science Association- Manchester branch. I also do volunteer work as:

i)             Resident participation with my housing association, Equity Housing Group on the Customer Panel and Going Green Group; and

ii)            Archiving with Stockport Heritage Library for the Stockport Image Archive voluntary Project.

I believe that being an active member of these groups has prepared me for my Groundwork Volunteer Project Assistant role in a number of ways. They have given me:

i)             Experience and awareness of how community groups work such as teamwork, planning and the barriers they face such as resource constraints;

ii)            An understanding and appreciation of international and local SMEs via Customer Panel training of business management experience, governance, planning processes, risk and service, Lean Methodology including key performance indicators;

iii)           An improvement of my literacy, numeracy and IT skills by way of scanning and data input, Scrutiny, creative writing and public speaking.

I aim to place a submission to this blog each week so that you can observe my experiences whilst I am on this placement.

Leave a Reply

