And then there was two…

We are moving away from the norm here, although I will fluctuate in and out of the key topic (All That Magazine), as it is my last day as a VPA today.

The folder is done…the magazine is not.

But do not panic as at the end of February the free, 32 page first edition will be hitting the streets and I could not leave the project for a paid internship in a happier position.

Pages are being set, ads are being sold and solid foundations and key contacts are being cemented for future contributions to the second editon.

I know after posting I will recall: “I should have said this…” etc but what I am about to list should sell the VPA project for anyone interested.

From three total unknowns meeting at Groundwork Oldham and Rochdale on the first day to three months down the line and a solid team which each of us bringing different skills to the project.

Personal highlights have included meeting all the differing organisations in Oldham for young people to access, I knew there was a few, but not this many! If the magazine can help guide young people then we have completed a point in our mantra.

Presenting the magazine in two assemblies at Hulme Grammar in front of 300 students each time was an amazing experience but just as good was working alongside Princes Trust team O81 from start to their final presentation.

From turning drafted plans on paper to pages being set in the magazine has been a tough process and copy-chasing is real hard work but I can only thank all the contributors we have worked with so far for their patience and hard work.

Aside from the bonus it will give my CV I have enjoyed the experience and learnt from mistakes that have been made and “better” approaches that could be made to certain tasks.

This post would go on too long if I thanked everyone who has helped me along this journey but my co-volunteers, Jo Fullman at Groundwork and Steve Duthie and Tony Mackin at Oldham Evening Chronicle need special mention.

Here’s to All That magazine becoming a hit!

Joe. 

One thought on “And then there was two…

  1. Thanks for all your efforts Joe you’ll be missed by all the team! We’ll be sure to send you a copy of the magazine when it is printed. Best of luck for the next few months in France.

Leave a Reply

